Four Days To Go

20140216-100101.jpg

The total pumped today is barely three quarters of an ounce. 0.75oz. That’s it. I’ve been two days without Domperidone and reduced my pump to 10 minutes. It’s a negligible amount to many, but it’s enough for me to save. It’s stored in the fridge, ready to be topped up with cows milk for tonight.

I’d wanted to continue pumping until Moo no longer wanted milk to drink at bedtime, but after several failed attempts, this isn’t happening any time soon. I’ve had enough of pumping. It sucks. It’s not a good way to start the day.

I’m very concerned that I’ll regret stopping when I look back at this in a few weeks time, particularly when I’m in a stronger place mentally. But a person can only do what feels right at the time. The community mental health team doctor has recommended this and in a way it feels like I’ve been given permission to stop.

There’s one bag of milk left in the freezer. I’m tempted to leave it there forever as a momento. But why waste a bag of the good stuff for the sake of sentimentality? I’ll defrost it later, and use it up tomorrow.

Only four days to go and this chapter will be closed.

Posted on February 16, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I am still Breastfeeding my 16 month old and it has just gotten down to the point where he bites me almost every time now… I tried pumping but he wouldn’t even accept it from a bottle (probably because he drinks straight out of a cup with no lid for the longest time!! Copying his big sister!!) I’m going to be sad when I stop Breastfeeding him 😦

  2. …and on to the next chapter… 🙂

  3. http://www.breastmilkkeepsakes.co.uk This is a sweet idea if you’d like a breastmilk keep sake to mark the end of your journey.

  4. You’ve done such a wonderful thing for her, and worked so very hard on it. I think you should be bursting with pride.

  5. I just came across your blog via mumsnet. I exclusively expressed for my little boy for 10 months. He’s now nearly 2, but I still have a bag of frozen milk in the freezer. Like you say, it’s a waste, but I just couldn’t bring myself to use it, knowing it was the last one… Who knows how long I’ll leave it there!

Leave a Reply

