Two And A Half

As of the 20th of this month I’ve been breastfeeding for 30 months. Moo is two and a half and has had my expressed breast milk her whole life. Sure, we used a little formula along the way, and she now has cows milk too, but she’s had plenty of the good stuff.

I can tell the end is in sight. I think about stopping pumping more and more often. I’m less religious about counting ounces and although my freezer stash is almost gone, it no longer upsets me. Quitting won’t be emotionally easy, but I won’t feel I’ll have failed Moo by calling it a day anytime soon.

The dream of breastfeeding her will die with it, and that will be hard. My life will no longer revolve around breast milk and the pump. You never know, my nipples might go back to normal too. I don’t think my passion for breastfeeding and supporting pumping mamas will ever go away. While I didn’t get the experience I dreamed of, pumping for this long has certainly had its own rewards.

Letting go of the ‘habit’ will be a toughie. Even as I’m writing this, I can feel the pumping gremlin telling me that I may as well do another six months. We shall see.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 30 months!! You are amazing!

  2. Wow congrats for making it that far! I’ve been EPing for 5 and a half months and I’m ready to be done. I’m aiming to do 4 and a half more. Maybe with your inspiration I can get there! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

