Talking Therapies Self Referral

20140122-233000.jpg

Apparently you can now refer yourself for talking therapies on the NHS. My doctor gave me a leaflet and form to fill out, along with my anti depressants. Seems pretty simple. The form isn’t too long winded, fortunately I’m not so insane that I’m incapable of holding a pen.

I get started. I complete my name. NHS number? That’ll take some research. Might leave it blank. I don’t have the energy to wade through paperwork mountain to find that. Tick boxes. Tick boxes are good. I can say yes to the things that are wrong with me. Simple.

Wait, what’s this? A big blank box? Ominous, somewhat intimidating. Describe the things that are causing me difficulties? Hmm. And out it pours. The lethargy, the planning of suicide, neglecting to stimulate my child, the insomnia, the anxiety attacks. There it is, all written down in block capitals. I even managed to fit it in the box.

And underneath, a question about what I hope to achieve by attending such therapies. I’ve written ‘I want to be normal’. A big ask, but I may as well put it out there.

Do I want to sign up for any group courses? Hell no. I don’t answer the phone or door, I can’t begin entertaining the idea of sitting in a room full of strangers while I rock back and forth. I think talking about how crazy I am with one person is plenty enough for now.

Done. Now just to build up the courage to post the damn thing.

20140122-233043.jpg

Posted on January 23, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A step in the right direction 🙂

Leave a Reply

