Pumping Is Beautiful

I immerse myself in breastfeeding culture, I love everything about breastfeeding. It’s beautiful, natural, miraculous. I love breastfeeding art and pictures, viewing them fills me with joy. My newsfeed is always full of photos of birth and breastfeeding posted by breastfeeding celebration pages and photographers. I’m a huge advocate of normalising breastfeeding through the sharing of such images. But you never see photos of expressing. The only ones I ever see on Google search results or Pinterest are cartoon images, or shots taken to advertise breast pumps or bras. There’s more to pumping than looking like clip art or selling equipment.

I’m sad that the only breastfeeding photographs I have are ones of the first few days. Moo wasn’t latched right, I’m very ill, I barely remember. I’ll never have the stunning photoshoot, the arty black and white shots, the poses with gorgeous nature as the back drop. But there’s no reason I can’t have expressing photos. It’s such a huge part of my life that it seems ridiculous not to have images documenting it.

 

Posted on September 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. Pumping is beautiful, but not this picture. Awesome site !
    http://www.phillybookpicks.wordpress.com

  2. Adorable!

    — Dana, Another pumping Mama, almost 17 lifetime months so far!
    http://LilFamily.com

  3. I absolutely adore these photos & you made me tear up! Thanks for sharing & keep up the good work! Xo
    Love,
    Another breast feeding/pumping mommy 😉

  4. There is no “almost” about it… THIS is JUST AS BEAUTIFUL as breastfeeding. And as a mama who has run the gamut of nursing and pumping, I know how bloody hard it is to deal with pumping (the cleaning/sterilizing alone… ugh). Your pictures are awesome, and I’m sure will be an inspiration to other mamas.

  5. I find these pictures extremely awesome! 🙂

  6. Love the picture of the dark room sitting in front of the computer. It really brings me back to my full time pumping days. It is more than beautiful. It evokes so many emotions.

  7. Beautiful! I pump occasionally now but used to pump a ton for my preemie daughter. Wish I’d taken a picture!

  8. I pump and nurse and I have my favorite nursing AND pumping pics. You rock mama!! And so do all the other mamas that exclusively pump!!

  9. Pumping mamas are rock stars! I truly believe that if I had to pump these last 14 months instead of nurse, I couldn’t have made it. What an amazing commitment to your little one. I think the pictures are awesome!

  10. As a part time pumping momma I find that pumping for my lovebug is just as beautiful as breastfeeding her, it’s beautiful to me because its how I am still able to nourish her with the best when I’m not able to be with her. I may not look very beautiful while I’m pumping but it’s one of the most wonderful things I have ever done. I’m very thankful that I have a job that allows me as much time as I need to pump while still on the clock and working at the same time. 6 months and going strong! Thank you for sharing this, you are beautiful!

  11. Beautiful. Fabulous. 1000x harder to exclusively pump in my opinion. I only had to do it for short spurts. I would have never made it. Way to go momma.

  12. Beautiful! Thank you for sharing ❤

  13. Love it. But… How do you keep those things on? No clips?! I would kill to not have to use clips!

    • It’s pretty wedged in my bra so once the suction gets going I can let go.

      You can get hands free nursing bras, give them a google.

      I have one I don’t use, email me at thepumpingmama@gmail.com, if it fits you then I’ll post it out to you 🙂

      • I do the same thing…I wondered if I’d use one of those bras, but I make do without just fine!! I have the same pump too, and I love it!! Except my battery has crashed so I’m stuck sitting still while plugged to the wall, but I plan to replace it soon with a new Freestyle!!

      • If you’ve had it less than a year then try for an exchange, Medela are very accommodating. 🙂

  14. Thanks for posting. I pumped for 6 months for my preemie and I mourned not being able to nurse. I also tried to relactate. Thank you for pumping and normalizing breast feeding with these beautiful photos! I learned that even though my breastfeeding relationship was not typical it was still successful!

  15. I’ve been pumping exclusively for 8 months…you are giving me motivation to keep going! Thanks for posting your awesome pictures. It’s so nice to know that you’re not alone, pumping feels lonely sometimes. Thanks again! Beautiful pics!

  16. Love, love, LOVE these photos!!! Thank you for sharing! I know my mamas will love to learn more about your journey 🙂

  17. Thank you for all the kind words 🙂

  18. Beautiful! This is me 3/4 of the time since I’m a working mama… You go Girl! Made my week 🙂

  19. Thank you. I never thought to do anything like this but your words could have been my own. I pumped for 21 months with enough frozen to get at least to 27 months. EP’ing is ridiculously hard and I wish it didn’t come to that but I’m glad I was able to give her breast milk regardless of being able to actually get her to feed at breast.

  20. Thank you for sharing these! Too often pumping is looked at as something that should be hidden away and not shown or talked about. But it is an act of pure, selfless love and deserves respect and recognition. This post is a gift to present and future pumping moms.

  21. I spent 3 months pumping while I waited to my LO to latch. I felt awkward, I felt alone and cold and sterile and a big squishy ugly mess when I got up alone at home to pump while she was in the NICU. I was depressed. You are beautiful and I wish I would have seen this then. Thank you for sharing for those Mamas who will need this when they feel like I did. They are gorgeous and to me, every bit as beautiful and natural as those bfing shots you speak of. You are normalising pumping! Kudos!

  22. wish i could express that much! god you dont half make it look easy! lol

  23. I have pumped for close to 6 years total between my 5 kids. I highly recommend getting a hands free pumping bra like Simple Wishes. It works great, keeps the flanges in place. I never had to worry about them coming off when I use the hands free bra. I have RA so it was really great having it. It makes pumping a lot more relaxing. Great site.

  24. Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful pictures! What a wonderful gift to yourself. I wish I had the foresight!

  1. Pingback: Hanging Up The Pump | Feed The Bear

  2. Pingback: Would you love breastfeeding if it was like THIS? | By The Seat Of My Panties

Leave a Reply

